top of page
NPD 2024 Save the Date banner
The Awards

Each year at National Philanthropy Day, we honor outstanding philanthropists who shape our communities and give with a generous heart in the following categories.



Presented to an individual or family, either in honor or memory, who are recognized widely as community philanthropists and have a long and proven record of making a significant impact in their community through financial support and volunteerism/leadership for a variety of organizations



Presented to an individual or family who have demonstrated exceptional generosity through direct financial support, outstanding civic and charitable responsibility, and whose generosity encourages others to take philanthropic leadership roles on a local, national and/or international level.



Presented to an individual or couple who has demonstrated exceptional leadership skill in coordinating and motivating groups of volunteers for major fundraising projects and is recognized for sharing their time and talents with area nonprofit organizations.



Presented to a corporation or its corporate foundation that has demonstrated outstanding commitment through financial support and through encouragement and motivation of others to take leadership roles toward philanthropy and community involvement.



Presented to an individual or group of young people (college students or younger) who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the community through direct financial support, charitable programs, volunteerism and/or leadership in philanthropy.



Presented to an individual fundraising professional who practices his/her profession in an exemplary manner. The recipient must have at least five years of professional fundraising experience, evidence of quality of leadership and being a team player, a commitment to continuing professional development, and commitment to fundraising and philanthropy through volunteer service and financial support of non-profit organizations.

National Philanthropy Day Honorees, 1993-2023

Each year at NPD we honor outstanding philanthropists who shape our communities and give with a generous heart.

Outstanding Lifetime Philanthropy Award

2023    Joseph Scala video

2022    Bruce & Carol Bell video

2021    Diane Ford video

2021    Dr. Susan A. May video

2020    Dr. Monroe and Sandra Trout

2019    Harold Eichstadt & the late Sally Eichstadt

2018    E.T. “Tug” Juday (presented posthumously)

2017    Tim & Susan Stone

2016    Bernard and Alyce Dahlin                  

2015    Doug Hyde

2014    Jack and Engrid Meng

2014    Sally and John Mielke and the Mielke Family

2013    Joyce and Otto Bytof

2012    William Siekman and Family

2011    J.J. Keller Foundation

2010    The Kerwin Foundation

2010    Chester Krause

2009    Stanley Cottrill

2008    Isidore and Carol Kwarterski

2008    Doug and Myrt Ogilvie

2008    Bart and Cherry Starr

2006    Philip and Elizabeth Hendrickson

2005    George F. Kress Foundation

2004    Donald and Darlene Long

1999    Vernon Lubinski

1998    Emory Ansorge

Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer Award

2023    Snowdrop Foundation video

2023    Sandy Hupfer video

2022    Don Schumann video

2021    The Oshkosh Food Co-op Team led by Brenda Haines

2020    Joseph Scala

2019    Sue Bellin

2018    Roger Skaletski

2017    Jim & Annette Ostrom

2016    Wayne (Bud) Wieting

2015    Hugh F. Denison

2014    James Rivett

2014    Women’s Fund of Greater Green Bay
            Campaign Leaders

2013    The ARC Fox Cities and NAMI ‘Flight Crew”

2013    Jay Fulkerson

2012    Judith Koeppler

2012    Michael Raymaker

2011    Rick Chernick

2010    Harry Radix

2009    Bob Schaupp

2008    Russ Reff

2007    Gordon Haugan and Mary Meyer

2007    Thomas Olson and Virginia Riopelle

2006    Wayne and Ginger Micksch

2006    Tita Kelly Plouff

2005    Gary and Marti Spittell Ziegelbauer

2005    Dr. John and Sally Mielke

2004    Ryan and Sarah Longwell

2003    Betty Dunne

2003    Lauri Cullen, Julie Blank and Madeline Harlan

2002    Joyce Bytof

2001    Elinor Smith

2000    Amy Cebulski

1999    Ann Murphy

1998    Michael Meeuwsen

1997    Lucyanna Hitch

1996    Gerald Fischer

1995    Richard L. Gunderson

1994    Susan Vette

1993    Paul Schierl

Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation Award

2023    Associated Bank video

2022    Community First Credit Union video

2021    Amcor video

2020    Thrivent Foundation

2019    Image Studios

2018    Nasonville Dairy

2017    MCL Industries, Inc.

2016    Bergstrom Automotive

2015    KBX Logistics

2014    Associated Bank

2014    Wisconsin Public Service Foundation

2013    SECURA Insurance Companies

2012    Menasha Corporation

2011    Miller Electric

2010    Green Bay Packers, Inc.

2009    Kimberly-Clark Corporation

2009    Miron Construction

2007    U.S. Oil Company

2006    Community First Credit Union

2005    WPS Resources Corporation

2004    Petco

2004    Boldt Company

2003    Goodwill Industries of N.C.W.

2002    Mercury Marine

2002    Thrivent Financial for Lutherans

2002    Schreiber Foods Corporation

Outstanding Philanthropist Award

2023    The Hoeper Family video

2022    Kathi Seifert video

2021    Jim Pierce video

2020    Claudine and Jim Happel

2019    Mark Kasper

2018    Carl Drake

2017    Edward Martin

2016    Patricia Exarhos

2015    Mike & Kate Meeuwsen

2014    Dan and Penny Bollom

2014    The Spierings Cancer Foundation

2013    Paul Renard

2013    John and Lynn Pfefferle

2012    Larry Haase

2012    Shirley and Albert Schmidt

2011    Dewey Carl

2011    Sue Olmsted

2010    Robert & Patricia Endries Family

2009    Bob and Bonnie Buchanan

2008    Dr. Theresa Cheng

2008    The Mielke Family Foundation

2007    Ron and Colleen Weyers

2006    Doug and Carla Salmon

2006    The Brett Favre  Fourward Foundation

2005    Jack and Engrid Meng

2005    Jim Keller

2004    Irene “Billie” Kress

2003    Ray Schmidt

2003    Betty Rose Meyer

2003    Jack and Ethel Keller

2002    Robert and Carol Bush

2002    Charles and Donna Barnum

2001    David A. Ogilvie

2000    Douglas and Audrey Lyke

1999    John and Susan Vette

1998    Thomas E. Caestecker

1997    Leo and Fran Frigo

1996    Fred and Patricia Baer

1995    Paul Gehl

1994    John Bubolz

1993    William Kellett

Youth in Philanthropy Award

2023    Boys & Girls Club of Greater Green Bay video

2022    Federrico Auricchio video

2021    Sydney Supple video

2019    Lucas Smith

2018    Caragan Olles

2017    William & Benjamin Krause

2016    Riley Garbe

2015    Freedom High School - NHS

2014    Jacob Herda

2013    Evan and Noah Roubal

2012    Elizabeth Braatz

2012    Lawrence University Students

2011    Marinette & Menominee Community Foundation

                   Youth Advisory Committee

2011    United Way Fox Cities Youth Board

2010    Boy Scouts of America, Bay Lakes Council

Outstanding Fundraising Professional Award

2023    Wendy Compton video

2022    Cindy Berton video

2020    Tracy Arndt

2018    Cindi Brawner

2017    Crystal Harrison

2016    Amy Barker

2015    Tonya Dedering

2014    Johanna Wicklund

2011    Cal Husmann

​Each year, the National Philanthropy Day Awards Committee seeks nominations in six categories. Past award recipients in categories not highlighted this year include:


Outstanding Media/Marketing Partner Award

2013    WIXX 101

2013    Red Shoes PR, Inc.

2012    Willems Marketing

2012    Gannett

2011    The Avenue 91.1

2011    WBAY-TV


In Memoriam: Outstanding Philanthropist

2009    Myrl and Catherine Apple

2006    Arlene Walter of The Byron L. Walter Family Trust

2005    Donald and Violet Himebaugh

2005    Lucile B. Mosling Morton Grams


Corporate Responsibility Award

2009    Festival Foods

2008    Citizens First Credit Union

2006    Prospera Credit Union

bottom of page